NCPA appoints new president

Michele Belcher of Grants Pass Pharmacy was named president from 2021 to 2022 of the National Community Pharmacists Association.
Sandra Levy
Senior Editor
Sandra Levy profile picture

The National Community Pharmacists Association at its annual convention, held on Oct. 9 to 12, announced the appointment of a new president. 

a person posing for the camera

Pharmacist Michele Belcher, of Grants Pass Pharmacy in Grants Pass, Ore., will be taking over as president for 2021 to 2022. 

In her remarks to the House of Delegates, Belcher thanked the women who preceded her as NCPA president and acknowledged the example her father set when working together at their family pharmacy.

She also highlighted the nearly 135 million doses of COVID-19 vaccines that have been administered by Federal Retail Pharmacy Program pharmacies, emphasizing how independent pharmacists and their teams showed their full potential during the pandemic. Discussing her focus on pharmacist scope of practice issues and changing the pharmacy payment model, Belcher said, “Now is the time to step up and invest in our future.”

Belcher graduated from the Oregon State University College of Pharmacy. Grants Pass Pharmacy has been in the community since 1933 and is the last remaining independent pharmacy in the area, the organization said. 

The House of Delegates also elected pharmacist Steve Moore, owner of Condo Pharmacy in Plattsburgh, N.Y., as the fifth vice president, the newest association officer.

[Read more: NCPA Annual Convention honors pharmacists, students]

In other business, NCPA’s House of Delegates – comprised of pharmacy owners and managers representing their respective states – approved position statements on several different issues including pharmacist-administered COVID-19 monoclonal antibody therapeutics, recognizing pharmacists as providers, and excessive pharmacy benefit manager audit procedures.

NCPA delegates confirmed these independent community pharmacy owners for the indicated positions: 

Board of Directors

  • President – Michele Belcher, Grants Pass, Ore.;
  • President-elect – Hugh Chancy, Hahira, Ga.;
  • Jeff Carson, San Antonio, Texas;
  • Lea Wolsoncroft, Birmingham, Ala.;
  • Jeff Harrell, Ilwaco, Wash.;
  • Kristen Riddle, Conway, Ark.;
  • Christian Tadrus, Moberly, Mo.;
  • Justin Wilson, Midwest City, Okla.; and 
  • Immediate Past President – Brian Caswell, Baxter Springs, Kan.


  • First Vice President – Michael Kim, Washington, D.C.;
  • Second Vice President – Jonathan Marquess, Woodstock, Ga.;
  • Third Vice President – Hashim Zaibak, Milwaukee, Wis.;
  • Fourth Vice President – Dared Price, Winfield, Kan.; and 
  • Fifth Vice President – Steve Moore, Plattsburgh, N.Y.