APhA board elects future president, 2 trustees

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

APhA board elects future president, 2 trustees

By David Salazar - 06/06/2017
WASHINGTON — The American Pharmacists Association on Tuesday announced the results of its board elections, laying out its future leadership — including president-elect and two trustees, as well as an honorary president.

The organization elected Cardinal Health director of product strategy and commercialization Brad Tice as its president-elect for 2018-19. Tice will succeed current president Nicki Hillard on March 25, 2019 at the conclusion of the 2019 APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in Seattle. APhA also elected Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner and Theresa Tolle to its board of trustees for three-year terms, and named Stanley Shaw 2018-19 honorary president. All officers will be installed in March 2018 at the 165th APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in Nashville.

Tice has spent his career focused on elevating the pharmacy profession, having served as an APhA trustee-at-large from 2014 to 2017 and speaker of the APhA House of Delegates from 2011 to 2013. He has also worked with such organizations as the Pharmacy Quality Alliance and the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

Rodriguez de Bittner serves as professor and associate dean for clinical services and practice transformation, as well executive director of the Center for Innovative Pharmacy Solutions at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy. In her career, she has worked to develop such nationally recognized programs as the Giant Diabetes Education Program and a Maryland-based pharmacist-directed medication therapy management program. She is past president of the Maryland Pharmacists Association and the APhA Foundation board, as well as an APhA fellow and former member of various APhA and taskforces. She received the APhA Foundation Pinnacle Award for Individual Career Achievement in 2015, among several other distinctions.

Tolle owns Bay Street Pharmacy in Sebastian, Fla., and has experience in chain, long-term care and hospital pharmacy practice. Her independent pharmacy focuses on such clinical services as MTM, counseling, compounding, immunizations and pharmacogenomics testing. She won the 2017 APhA Pharmacy Management Excellence Award, was named an APhA fellow in 2011 and its Good Government Pharmacist of the Year in 2004. She also won Cardinal Health’s Ken Wurster Community Leadership Award in 2011. Tolle has worked wit such organizations as the National Community Pharmacists Association and the Cardinal Health National Advisory Board, among several others.

Shaw is professor emeritus of nuclear pharmacy at Purdue University College of Pharmacy. He was co-organizer of the first nuclear pharmacy session at the 1974 APhA Annual Meeting and has served on numerous nuclear pharmacy committees. IN his more than 40-yar involvement with APhA, he has been part of the APhA House of Delegates, has been an APhA fellow and received the Distinguished Award in Nuclear Pharmacy and the Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award.

Related Topics