Skip to main content

NACDS recognizes pro-pharmacy Republican Senators


ALEXANDRIA, Va. The National Association of Chain Drug Stores has joined with the 18 Republican Senators who are urging Sen. Charles Grassley, R-Iowa, Ranking Member of the Senate Finance Committee, to include provisions in the pending Medicare reform legislation concerning the importance of delaying Medicaid reimbursement cuts and ensuring prompt payment under Medicare Part D.

One provision under consideration would delay the implementation of a new Medicaid reimbursement benchmark, Average Manufacturer Price, which would drastically reduce payments to pharmacies. The other provision would ensure that pharmacies are reimbursed within fourteen days for Medicare Part D claims filed electronically.

These provisions were originally included in legislation sponsored by Senate Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus, D-Mont., as part of a package of Medicare and Medicaid improvements. Sens. Baucus and Grassley are expected to negotiate a similar bipartisan bill that needs to be enacted by July 1.

“We applaud these 18 senators for their strong support of pro-pharmacy legislation,” said NACDS president and chief executive officer Steven C. Anderson. “It is crucial that these provisions be enacted, and we thank Chairman Baucus, Senator Grassley, and Senator Wicker for their leadership on behalf of patients and pharmacies.”

The 18 senators who signed the letter are: Roger Wicker, R-Mo., John Barrasso, R-Wyo., Sam Brownback, R-Kan., Kit Bond, R-Mo., Richard Burr, R-N.C., Saxby Chambliss, R-Ga., Thad Cochran, R-Miss., Susan Collins, R-Maine, Norm Coleman, R-Minn., Bob Corker, R-Tenn., Larry Craig, R- Ind, Elizabeth Dole, R-N.C., Mike Enzi, R-Wyo., Chuck Hagel, R-Neb., Johnny Isakson, R-Ga., Pat Robert, R-Kan., Arlen Specter, R-Pa. and George Voinovich, R-Ohio.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds