Skip to main content

NACDS presents Harold W. Pratt Award collectively to chain, associate member company teams


The National Association of Chain Drug Stores on Monday presented the 2021 Harold W. Pratt Award — its commendation that recognizes outstanding service to pharmacy — during the first Business Program of its virtual 2021 NACDS Annual Meeting. In a departure that reflects the nature of the past year, NACDS bestowed the award collectively on the teams of each and every NACDS chain and associate member company rather than on one individual.

“Right along with other healthcare heroes and essential workers, they are serving the public at a crucial time," Anderson said. "And they are showing the value of this industry and of this profession. In the spirit of Harold W. Pratt, they have pioneered, they have persevered, the have led, they have inspired, and they are the face of neighborhood healthcare and the face of health and wellness.”

The Harold W. Pratt Award was established in 1985 by the NACDS board of directors and recognizes individuals whose activities have contributed to the promotion, recognition and improvement of the practice of pharmacy in the chain pharmacy setting.

The award is named for Harold W. Pratt, the industry’s first director of professional services. Over the course of his 43 years of service to Walgreens, Pratt came to be recognized as the “dean” of pharmacy professionals. NACDS said he was a pioneer for the industry who worked tirelessly to grow and promote pharmacy operations.



This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds