APhA seeks nominations for new awards, honors


WASHINGTON — The American Pharmacists Association announced that nominations are being accepted for its practitioner awards and honors, which are administered by the APhA Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management.

APhA said that the awards, which will be presented at the APhA annual meeting and exposition in Los Angeles in March 2013, include the new APhA-APPM Pharmacy Management Excellence award and three new APhA-APPM Distinguished Achievement awards. Nominees are being sought for the following awards and honors:

  • Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence award: Established in 1964 and named in honor of the first president of the American Pharmaceutical Association, this premier practice award recognizes an APhA member, in any practice setting, who has distinguished himself or herself and the profession of pharmacy by sustained outstanding performance and achievement;

  • APhA-APPM Pharmacy Management Excellence award: Established in 2012 and to be first presented at APhA2013, the award is intended to recognize an APhA member in any practice setting who has distinguished himself/herself and the profession by outstanding performance in the area of pharmacy management;

  • APhA-APPM Distinguished Achievement awards: The APhA-APPM Distinguished Achievement awards are intended to recognize individuals who have made a significant or sustained contribution to pharmacy practice and have advanced the missions of APhA and APhA-APPM. Up to three recognitions will be presented each year and the individual awards will be as follows: Distinguished Achievement in Pharmacy Practice, Distinguished Achievement in Pharmacy Management and Distinguished Achievement in Service; and

  • APhA Fellow: This honor recognizes APhA members, with a minimum of 10 years of exemplary professional experience and achievements in professional practice, who have rendered outstanding service to the profession through activities in APhA and in other organizations. Up to 10 APhA Fellows can be selected by APhA-APPM each year.

Nominations are due by Sept. 1.

Interested in this topic? Sign up for our weekly Collaborative Care e-newsletter.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds