NACDS Foundation donors recognize leaders in community pharmacy


DENVER — Several National Association of Chain Drug Stores Foundation donors honored leaders in community pharmacy with contributions to the foundation at the 2012 NACDS Pharmacy and Technology Conference.

The awards recognize forward-thinking leaders who have shown a commitment to cultivating the future — and the present — of health care in community pharmacy.

The donations made in the name of honorees will help advance NACDS Foundation initiatives. The foundation also recognized pharmacy educators who have made significant contributions to patient care in the community pharmacy setting.

John Holcomb, VP healthcare operations at Target

IMS Health awarded the IMS Health Pharmacy Partnership Award to Target’s VP healthcare operations, John Holcomb. A contribution of $10,000 was made in Holcomb’s honor to the NACDS Foundation. The award recognizes a leader who values the importance of data in fact-based communication and will support foundation efforts to serve patient well-being.

Victor Curtis, Costco Wholesale doing business as Costco Pharmacies SVP pharmacy

Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals awarded the Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceutical Alliance Award to Costco Wholesale doing business as Costco Pharmacies SVP pharmacy, Victor Curtis. The award commends leadership, commitment and service to patient care in community pharmacy. A $10,000 contribution was donated by Boehringer-Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals to the NACDS Foundation in Curtis’ name.

Matthew Machado, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences associate professor of pharmacy practice

The NACDS Foundation Pharmacy Preceptor of the Year Award, supported by Apotex, recognized a pharmacy preceptor who has made significant contributions to patient care through the education of pharmacy students at Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience rotations in a community pharmacy practice setting. The award recipient’s academic institution will receive a $5,000 stipend to fund future patient care projects or research.

Jeffery Goad, University of Southern California School of Pharmacy associate professor

The NACDS Foundation Community Pharmacy Faculty Award, supported by Abbott–Pharmaceutical Products Division, recognized a pharmacy school faculty member (full-time or shared faculty) who has made significant contributions to the practice of community pharmacy through innovations in patient care. The recipient’s academic institution will receive a $5,000 stipend to fund current or future research in the recipient’s area of community pharmacy practice.

“The NACDS Foundation, along with our generous donors, is proud to recognize those individuals who, day to day, are committed to improving pharmacy education, patient care and healthcare delivery in their communities,” stated Kathleen Jaeger, NACDS Foundation president.  “We are honored to recognize these distinguished award recipients, and to support programs that will foster the next generation of patient care.”

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds