APhA Foundation endows the William H. Briner Award with support from the National Association of Nuclear Pharmacies


WASHINGTON — The American Pharmacists Association Foundation announced from the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in San Diego, the completed endowment of the APhA-Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management William H. Briner Distinguished Nuclear Pharmacy Practice Award with a $37,000 pledge from the National Association of Nuclear Pharmacies.  

"The National Association of Nuclear Pharmacies is proud to be the Premier Supporter of the APhA-APPM William H. Briner Distinguished Achievement Award in Nuclear Pharmacy Practice," said executive director and chairman of NANP, Jeff Norenberg. "Through this support, NANP seeks to ensure the enduring recognition of nuclear pharmacist practitioners who have made distinguished contributions to promote best practices in the specialized practice of nuclear pharmacy. For more than 30 years, the NANP has worked in close partnership with APhA to promote and advance the profession of nuclear pharmacy and to ensure patient access to safe, reliable, and effective radiopharmaceuticals."

Established in 1997, the award was renamed in 2000 in honor of Captain William H. Briner, a radiopharmacist who helped bring the practice of pharmacy to nuclear medicine. The award annually recognizes the achievements of an individual who has made a significant contribution or sustained contributions to the provision of pharmaceutical care within the practice areas represented by the APhA-APPM Section on Nuclear Pharmacy Practice. The 2015 recipient is Richard Nickel, a research pharmacist at Saint Louis University.

"The legacy of Captain Briner lives on through his influence on the principles and procedures of nuclear pharmacy, and through the contributions of the recipients of the award named in his honor," said Mark Soffing, APhA-APPM Nuclear Pharmacy Special Interest Group chair. "We are grateful for the NANP's premier support of the award, which will allow us to continue to recognize practitioners who shape the future of nuclear pharmacy practice."

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds