APhA names candidates for several roles


WASHINGTON, D.C. — The American Pharmacists Association announced candidates for its board of trustees, president-elect and honorary president roles. Elections for these positions will take place March 24-May 22, and APha members will have the opportunity to meet the candidates during its Annual Meeting and Exposition in San Francisco from March 24-27.

The candidates for president-elect 2018-2019 are Brad Tice and Rebecca W. Chater. The two pairs nominated for election to serve 2018-2021 terms on the APhA Board of Trustees are: Gregory A. Fox vs. Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner; and Sean Jeffery of Branford vs. Theresa Tolle. Stanley Shaw is unopposed as the candidate for honorary president.

Tice, PharmD, MBA, FAPhA, is the director/product leader of Medication Therapy Management for Cardinal Health. He received his bachelor of science from the University of Kansas in 1994 and PharmD in 1996. He also received an MBA from Vanderbilt University Owen School of Management in 2012. His career has spanned pharmacy wholesaler, entrepreneurial start-up, independent and chain community pharmacy, academia, and managed care.

Chater, RPh, MPH, FAPhA has been a career-long pioneer in innovative community-based clinical pharmacy practice. She earned both her B.S. in Pharmacy and Masters in Public Health from UNC-Chapel Hill. Chater is Executive Healthcare Strategist for Ateb, a healthcare technology company specializing in integration of community pharmacy into the broader healthcare system.

Fox, RPh, is a current APhA Trustee and Pharmacy Merchandiser for The Kroger Co.’s Central Marketing Area, encompassing Indiana, Illinois, and parts of Missouri, Michigan, and Ohio. His experience includes community, managed care, long term care, and consultant pharmacy. He served on numerous health insurance plan boards as a board member or P&T committee member. He received his pharmacy degree from the University of Cincinnati and is a graduate of the University of Mississippi APhA Community Pharmacy Business Management Program.

Magaly Rodriguez de Bittner, PharmD, BCPS, CDE, FAPhA, is a professor and associate dean for Clinical Services and Practice Transformation and executive director of the Center for Innovative Pharmacy Solutions at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy. Currently, she is a fellow in Population Health at the University of Maryland Health System. Her role as a pharmacy faculty has led to the development of many nationally recognized innovative programs, including the Giant Diabetes Education Program and the Maryland P3 Program.

Jeffery, Pharm.D., CGP, FASCP, FNAP, AGSF, is director of Clinical Pharmacy Services at Integrated Care Partners, an accountable care organization responsible for Hartford Healthcare Group’s value-based practice transformation. His career has focused on implementing innovative patient care services for seniors that promote the value of pharmacists in care coordination. Currently, he is responsible for pharmacy network development and strategy, population health management, and support of an integrated care-management team.

Tolle, BPharm, FAPhA, has been owner of Bay Street Pharmacy in Sebastian, Fla., for the past 17 years. Prior to owning an independent pharmacy, she had practice experience in chain, long term care (consultant) pharmacy and hospital.

Shaw, Ph.D., FAPhA, FASHP, FFIP is a professor emeritus, Nuclear Pharmacy at Purdue University College of Pharmacy. He received a B.S. in Pharmacy and M.S. in Pharmaceutical Science from South Dakota State University and a Ph.D. in Bionucleonics from Purdue.

The American Pharmacists Association, founded in 1852 as the American Pharmaceutical Association, represents more than 63,000 practicing pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists, pharmacy technicians and others interested in advancing the profession.


This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds