APhA names winners of 2018 Immunization Champions Awards

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

APhA names winners of 2018 Immunization Champions Awards

By David Salazar - 02/21/2018
The American Pharmacists Association has announced the winners of its 2018 Immunization Champions Awards. The awards recognize pharmacists and organizations that have made notable contributions to improving their communities’ vaccination rates.

"The APhA Immunization Champion Awards program helps us tell the story regarding pharmacists' contributions to and impact on the health of communities and as valued members of the immunization neighborhood,” APhA chief strategy officer Mitchel Rothholz said. “This year is the 10th anniversary for presentation of the awards. We applaud the more than 320,000 pharmacists trained to administer vaccines and who are making a difference in their communities."

The Washington, D.C.-based organization has been granting the awards for 10 years, and this year they were supported by Merck, Sanofi Pasteur and Seqirus. They consist of six categories — Individual Practitioners, Friend of Pharmacy immunization efforts, Corporation/ Institution, Partnership, Community Outreach and Pharmacy Team Member. APhA said it evaluated nominees based on the areas of impact, originality and opportunities created for pharmacists, among other criteria.

The winners and honorable mentions are:

Individual Practitioner
Winners: Andrew DeMotto of Whiteriver, Ariz., and Holly Gurgle of Salt Lake City, Utah.
Honorable mention: Tuong-Lan Nguyen of Broken Arrow, Okla., and Luis Rosado of Morovis, Puerto Rico

Friend of Pharmacy
Winner: Kimberly Battreall of Omaha, Neb.

Outstanding Career Achievement
Winner: William Atkinson of Saint Paul, Minn.

Winner: Albertsons, based in Boise, Idaho
Honorable mention: Fred’s, based in Arlington, Tenn.

Winner: Seattle’s Project VACCINATE

Community Outreach
Winner: Reeves-Sain Drug Store in Murfreesboro, Tenn.
Honorable mention: Brandy Turner of Richmond, VA)

Pharmacy team member
Winner: Cecilia Dudero of Santa Clara, Calif.

Related Topics