Lilly chief executive John Lechleiter appointed as PhRMA chairman


BOSTON — The Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America announced Friday the appointment of Eli Lilly chairman, president and CEO John Lechleiter as PhRMA chairman at its annual meeting. The group also elected Celgene president and CEO Robert Hugin as chairman-elect of its board of directors and Pfizer president and CEO Ian Read as board treasurer. Lechleiter replaces Sanofi CEO Christopher Viehbacher as chairman.

"Chris has been indispensable to PhRMA on many fronts, providing invaluable leadership as the industry navigates the evolving policy and regulatory landscapes essential to continued innovation while always putting patients first," PhRMA president and CEO John Castellani said. "As Dr. Lechleiter assumes the chairman role, we can all feel comfort knowing that the patient-centered approaches we utilize in all our advocacy efforts will continue to be central to our mission of advancing innovation in the [United States] and worldwide."

Interested in this topic? Sign up for our weekly DSN Collaborative Care e-newsletter.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds