QS/1’s Sonny Anderson elected ASAP president

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

QS/1’s Sonny Anderson elected ASAP president

By Sandra Levy - 02/05/2019
Sonny Anderson, QS/1's vice president of technology, has been elected president of the American Society for Automation in Pharmacy. He was elected to the role at ASAP's annual meeting at Kiawah Island, S.C., on Jan. 24.

Anderson, who will serve two years, succeeds Michael Podgurski, former vice president of pharmacy services at Rite Aid who now is principal of Podgurski Consulting.

“Sonny has been an active member of ASAP for a number of years and has been involved in various initiatives, more specifically our involvement with prescription drug monitoring programs,” ASAP executive director Bill Lockwood said. “He brings to the board an understanding of ASAP’s mission and a background in IT that is certain to benefit the organization.”

Anderson hopes to increase participation of both pharmacy management software vendors, as well as other technology vendors that provide integration and interfaces to enhance pharmacy automation. The goal is to bring these vendors together to learn more about how automation can improve efficiency and allow pharmacy staff to spend more time counseling patients and improving the overall health of our communities, ASAP said.

"I am delighted to be the 15th president of ASAP,” Anderson said. “The list of past presidents is impressive and distinguished. As someone who has spent their entire career participating in the creation of technology solutions for pharmacy, this is a true honor for me. I look forward to the opportunity of serving such a great organization, its members and future members."

Anderson has a bachelor’s degree in computer science from the University of South Carolina and an MBA from the Moore School of Business at USC. He has played an instrumental role in the creation and development of multiple QS/1 products, as

Anderson, who joined QS/1 in 1983 as an applications programmer is the second QS/1 executive to serve as ASAP president. Former QS/1 president Tammy Devine was ASAP president for two terms between 2012 and 2016.