PQA names 2020 board and executive committee

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu
A boardroom with empty chairs.

PQA names 2020 board and executive committee

By Sandra Levy - 01/22/2020

The Pharmacy Quality Alliance board of directors approved its 2020 executive committee and appointed two new members to the 21-member board during its 2019 fourth quarter meeting. The appointments were effective Jan. 1.

“PQA’s board represents a diverse group of thought leaders and experts in healthcare, who understand how medication optimization improves patient outcomes and supports a value-based care system,” Laura Cranston, PQA CEO said. “Covering the healthcare spectrum, their expertise will help us advance the safe and appropriate use of medicines.”

Jamie Chan, senior director of clinical quality at Blue Shield of California, will serve as PQA’s board chair in 2020. A national leader in healthcare quality, safety, clinical pharmacy practice and benefit design, Chan has been involved in PQA’s work for more than 10 years. She succeeds David Medvedeff, Aspen RxHealth CEO, who will remain on the board’s executive committee as immediate past chair.

“As our health system increasingly moves toward value-based care, PQA has a vital role to play in supporting the safe and effective use of medication,” Chan said. “I am honored to work alongside the PQA board, our members and staff to optimize medication use through research, measurement and other quality initiatives that improve patient care and health outcomes.”

PQA board appointments, including its executive committee, represent the breadth and diversity of PQA’s multi-stakeholder membership. In addition to Chan and Medvedeff, the 2020 executive committee includes:

  • Vice-chair Jerry Penso, president and CEO of AMGA 
  • Secretary Vikki Ahern, senior vice president and plan president of Medicare Part D for Magellan Rx Management;
  • Treasurer Anne Burns, vice president of professional affairs for the American Pharmacists Association
  • Member at large Michael Duteau, president of Noble Health Services; and
  • Laura Cranston, CEO of PQA

The board's newest members are Linda Garrelts MacLean, who is vice president of the Community Pharmacy Foundation and interim dean at the Washington State University College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceuticals Science, and Michael Taday, who serves as vice president of pharmacy clinical strategies and operations for Humana. 

 Twelve individuals will continue their board service in 2020:

  • Mike Anderson, chief pharmacy officer at United Healthcare;
  • Christie Boutte, senior director of federal and state public policy with the National Association of Chain Drug Stores;
  • Susan Cantrell, CEO of the Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy;
  • Lou Dallago, vice president of U.S. trade group for Pfizer;
  • Rick Gates, senior vice president of  pharmacy and healthcare for Walgreens Boots Alliance
  • Ronna Hauser, vice president of pharmacy affairs for the National Community Pharmacists Association;
  • Sharon Jhawar, chief pharmacy officer of SCAN Health Plan;
  • Jeffrey Kelman, chief medical officer of the Center for Medicare at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services;
  • Bhavesh Modi, vice president of pharmacy at Healthfirst;
  • Cynthia Pigg, vice president of managed care and business development at Cardinal Health
  • Jason Spangler, executive director of value, quality, and medical policy for Amgen; and
  • Troy Trygstad, vice president of pharmacy programs with Community Care of North Carolina.

PQA has four 2020 board liaisons, who provide additional insights and counsel relevant to PQA’s multi-stakeholder members. They are Alan Balch, CEO, Patient Advocacy Foundation; Michelle Ketcham, director of the division of clinical and operational performance for CMS; Tripp Logan, board member of the NCPA innovation center; and Jeff Rochon, CEO, of the Washington State Pharmacy Association.


Related Topics