Skip to main content
award trophy hero

Upsher-Smith, NASPA recognize 47 pharmacists with 2022 NASPA Excellence in Innovation Award

This annual award, overseen by NASPA and sponsored by Upsher-Smith, honors innovators in the pharmacy field. 

Upsher-Smith and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations are recognizing 47 pharmacists nationwide with the 2022 NASPA Excellence in Innovation Award. This annual award, overseen by NASPA and sponsored by Upsher-Smith, honors innovators in the pharmacy field. 

The Excellence in Innovation Award recognizes qualified pharmacists who have demonstrated significant innovation in their practice, method or service directly or indirectly, resulting in improved patient care and/or advancement of the profession of pharmacy. The award is presented by participating state pharmacy associations throughout the year.

“Each year, Upsher-Smith looks forward to partnering with NASPA in their efforts to recognize the men and women who do so much to enhance and improve the practice of pharmacy in their communities,” said Rich Fisher, president and COO of Upsher-Smith. “We are proud to highlight their exceptional work and innovation, and especially their efforts to drive improved patient outcomes.” 

[Read more: Legislative Reform: Opportunities for action at both state, federal levels on issues important to retail pharmacy]

Rebecca Snead, executive vice president and CEO of NASPA, added, “It is an honor to acknowledge these exemplary pharmacists, who have been selected for their commitment to patients and their dedication to advancing the pharmacy profession. We also deeply appreciate Upsher-Smith and participating state pharmacy associations for their continued support of NASPA’s Excellence in Innovation Award.”

[Read more: APhA, NASPA release 2022 National State-based Pharmacy Workplace Survey report]

The 2022 Excellence in Innovation Award recipients include: 

  • Alabama: Jared Johnson and Jacob Johnson;
  • Alaska: Justin Ruffridge;
  • Arizona: Christopher Edwards;
  • Arkansas: Chester Barber;
  • California: Crystal Zhou;
  • Colorado: Melissa Rodgers;
  • Connecticut: Richard Kiley;
  • Delaware: TaQuina Warren;
  • Florida: Lorraine Mobley;
  • Georgia: Ben Ross;
  • Illinois: Eric Bandy;
  • Iowa: Deanna McDanel;
  • Kansas: Mary Beth Dameron;
  • Kentucky: MeLeigha Milby and Nelda Eads;
  • Louisiana: Robert “Butch” Ray;
  • Maine: Sara Couture;  
  • Maryland: Emily Heil;
  • Massachusetts: David DeiCicchi;
  • Michigan: Maria Young;
  • Minnesota: Paria Sanaty Zadeh;  
  • Mississippi: Carly Brown;
  • Missouri: Bianca Daisy-Bell;  
  • Montana: Keaten LaBrel;
  • Nebraska: Nathan Suck;
  • Nevada: KayLynn Bowman;  
  • New Hampshire: Matthew Maughan;  
  • New Jersey: Antonia Carbone;  
  • New Mexico: Uri Bassan;
  • New York: Steven Pardi;
  • North Carolina: Tracey Simmons-Kornegay;
  • North Dakota: Kevin Martian;
  • Ohio: Dustin Carneal;
  • Oklahoma: Brant Alexander;
  • Oregon: Gregg Wendland;  
  • Pennsylvania: Shawn Nairn;  
  • Puerto Rico: Carlos Torrado Delgado;  
  • Rhode Island: Kenny Correia;
  • South Carolina: Jarrod Tippins;
  • Tennessee: Katie Vandenberg;
  • Texas: Saba Syed;
  • Virginia: Alexis Page;
  • Washington: Kathleen Pierce;
  • West Virginia: Amber Conrad;
  • Wisconsin: Thad Schumacher; and
  • Wyoming: Eric Saul.
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds