CRN names new chairman, 2021 board

David Salazar
Managing Editor
David Salazar profile picture

The Council for Responsible Nutrition is starting its year with a new board and new chairman. Barry Ritz, chief scientific officer and vice president of professional research and development for Atrium Innovations is the organization's new chairman, holding the position until 2022. He succeeds Bayer Consumer Healthcare vice president of regulatory affairs North American and global regulatory affairs David Campbell, who remains on the board as immediate past chair. 

Ritze brings more than 20 years of dietary supplement industry experience, as well as three years on CRN’s executive committee. His work with Atrium Innovations has spanned 12 years and recently was marked by Nestle Health Science’s 2018 acquisition of the company. He oversees Atrium. Innovation’s R&D functions — including clinical trials and product development, as well as Food and Drug Administration- and Federal Trade Commission-related regulatory functions for products, labeling and marketing claims. 

“I’m excited about the coming two years and the opportunities they present for CRN and the dietary supplement industry,” Ritz said. “Our board has just adopted a new strategic plan that will strengthen CRN’s role in developing initiatives that expand awareness of the benefits of these products and consumer access to them. I’m honored to be leading the organization at a time when there is so much interest in better nutrition and health.”

Along with Ritz’s elevation to the chairman role, the following manufacturers and ingredient suppliers comprise CRN’s 2021 board. 


  • Aaron Bartz, Ortho Molecular Products;
  • Kyle Blackburn, Xymogen;
  • Paul Bolar, Pharmavite;
  • David Campbell, Bayer HealthCare;
  • Greg Chabidon, RB Health US;
  • Mike Finamore, Gemini Pharmaceuticals;
  • Bill Frankos, Herbalife;
  • Rob Fried, ChromaDex;
  • Laura Harkness, Church and Dwight;
  • David Hilton, Natrol;
  • Mark Hornick, Jamieson Wellness;
  • Kirk Jowers, doTERRA International;
  • Mandy Kraynik, Nature’s Way Brands;
  • Duffy MacKay, CV Sciences;
  • Tara Martin, Nutrawise Health & Beauty dba youtheory;
  • Tom Mondragon, Olly;
  • Diana Morgan, Care/Of;
  • Ken Myers, Nu Skin Enterprises;
  • Lisa Pankiewicz, The Clorox Company/Nutranext;
  • Scott Ravech, Deerland Probiotics & Enzymes;
  • Chris Reid, Plexus Worldwide;
  • Barry Ritz, Nestlé Health Science;
  • Oliver Sanders, GSK Consumer Healthcare;
  • Craig Sheehan, Activ Nutritional;
  • Lynne Szczepaniak, Zarbee’s Naturals/J&J;
  • Michelle Stout, Amway/Nutrilite;
  • Ben Teicher, Healthy Directions;
  • Tony True, Charlotte’s Web;
  • Adel Villalobos, Lief Labs; and 
  • Mark Walsh, MeriCal;

Ingredient suppliers

  • Frederic Boned, DSM Nutritional Products;
  • Bruce Brown, Natreon;
  • Sandy Chien, IMCD US;
  • Sherry Duff, Innophos;
  • Justin Green, Cargill Health & Nutrition;
  • Jim Hamilton, Omniactive Health Technologies;
  • John Helfrick, BASF;
  • James Komorowski, Nutrition 21; and
  • Karen Todd, Kyowa Hakko U.S.A.

Besides Campbell, other officers include Marin, Harkness, and Ravech, who chair-elect, treasurer secretary, respectively. In addition to these officers, Bartz, Bolar, Boned, Brown, Chabidon, Jowers, Kraynik, Pankiewicz,  and Sanders are members of CRN’s executive committee.