Skip to main content

NCPA seeks nominations for awards that recognize independent pharmacists, pharmacy educators


ALEXANDRIA, Va. — The National Community Pharmacists Association currently is accepting nominations for awards that will be presented at the group's annual convention and trade expo this fall.

The NCPA said it is seeking nominations for the NCPA Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year Award — which recognizes an independent pharmacist for exceptional leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy and the community — as well as the NCPA Prescription Drug Safety Award, which recognizes a pharmacist who has served as an outreach resource to his/her community in the provision of education about the benefits of the correct use of prescription drug products and the hazards of their improper use.

The NCPA also now is accepting nominations for the recently established Outstanding Adherence Practitioner and Outstanding Adherence Educator awards, which respectively will recognize a community pharmacist who demonstrates a commitment to improving medication adherence and improving patient outcomes in a community pharmacy setting; and a pharmacy educator who makes a significant contribution to the education of pharmacy students in the area of medication adherence.

The deadline for submissions is July 31. The awards will be presented at the NCPA Annual Convention and Trade Exposition, which will be held from Oct. 13 to 17 in San Diego.

"With these awards, NCPA is proud to recognize the work of our members and the invaluable contributions they make every day to our healthcare system," NCPA president Lonny Wilson said.

Interested in this topic? Sign up for our weekly Collaborative Care e-newsletter.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds